Board of Trustees installs new members

Trustee Nelida Mendoza Yanez is sworn in by Judge Salvador Sarmiento and Sen. Lou Correa.

A former state assemblyman, a retired U.S. Army Sergeant, and a termed-out councilwoman were sworn in as district trustees in a packed board room, Dec. 10.

Jose Solorio of Area 1, Nelida Mendoza Yanez of Area 3 and Claudia Alvarez of Area 5 will represent Rancho Santiago Community College District until 2016.

The new trustees take the places of Mark McLoughlin and David Chapel, who lost reelection in November. One seat has been added after redistricting was approved last May.

The board also elected new officers. Longtime trustee Arianna Barrios will serve as president, replacing Phillip Yarbrough; Lawrence Labrado was elected clerk, taking Barrios’ former position; and newly-elected trustee Jose Solorio will take the seat of vice president left vacant by McLoughlin. All officers were elected unanimously by the board.

Leave a Reply