Faculty honored for Excellence


CAMPUS: Faculty Awards.

Mathematics Professor Lynn Marecek won the Distinguished Faculty Award at the Annual Awards for Excellence for Classified and Faculty at Phillips Hall Tuesday.

The ceremony highlighted faculty and support staff for their service and commitment to Santa Ana College.

Marecek has been teaching mathematics at SAC for 21 years, is coordinator of the Freshman Experience and is co-authoring a math book.

Santa Ana College President Erlinda Martinez likened the event to an award ceremony for celebrities.

“It’s like our Academy Awards, a day we celebrate our work together as a college for students but they are also peer awards,” Martinez said.

District Chancellor Raul Rodriguez and Board of Trustees Vice President Mark McLoughlin were also in attendance.

“It’s such an honor,” Marecek said. “I always think of SAC as where I belong, and my students — I just love working with them on a day to day basis — and to be recognized by your colleagues is always an honor.”

Adjunct Sign Language professor Joseph Aschman also won SAC Adjunct Faculty of the year.
SAC President Erlinda Martinez and Math Professor and Distinguish Faculty Award winner Lynn Marecek smiling and holding flowers and their awards on the stage after they were presented with their respective awards.

Leave a Reply